What's the best way to expand my storage?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey guys!

I'm pretty new to FreeNAS so go easy! I currently have a N54L Microserver that has two 2TB drives in mirror and 2x4TB of RAM. I also have the 256GB drive that came with it which is in a separate pool and is only used for temporary files such as downloads and drop folder sharing around the house. My freeness build is FreeNAS-9.2.1.5-RELEASE-x64 (80c1d35). I'm at about 90% capacity and its filling up fast!

I'm still a student so money is relatively tight. I will only be able to buy RAM or storage once every few months. So my question is, what is the best way to expand my storage while still maintaining redundancy?

Eventually I would like 4x4TB drives so I was thinking of buying one 4TB drive and adding it to the 2x2TB pool. Will this work? How would I set up the RAID?

I'm assuming that 8GB of RAM won't be enough if I add more storage, correct?

Any help will be appreciated!

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast
Trent, this is going easy on you believe me.
Read the stickies on this forum, read the manual.
There's quite a steep learning curve if your data is
important to you.

Hi Dave,

Having done some reading, I still haven't quite found the answer to my question. Everything I've read talks about using the same sized drives. If thats the case, does that mean I can't add the 4TB drive into the mirror? Does this consequently mean I can't ever get to my desired 4x4TB config without first buying two 4TB drives at once, then transferring the data from the 2x2TB pool to one of the drives? Is it even possible to have a RAID config of 2x2TB + 1x4TB that is stable/reliable? Is changing the raid type possible without at some point wiping all the drives? Will that mean I have to buy even more drives to transfer my data to while I change the raid type?