What build for a NAS with ultra-low electricity consumption?

Status
Not open for further replies.

pantss

Cadet
Hello everyone, I'm totally new to NAS and I'm looking to build a new NAS with the greenest footprint possible. Hopefully I can be looking at 15watts excluding HDDs and case fans. As to how I derived 15watt - I have a 5 year old atom netbook that draws that little power and it's still alive today, operated 24/7.

I have a bunch of HDDs (80, 120, 300, 500, 1000GB - a few of each) so a prebuilt NAS is not an option as they lack slots and expansion capabilities.

Requisites:
-Ultra low electricity consumption
-Ability to expand (aka having PCI slots which translate to SATA ports/USB ports for ext HDDs)

Questions:
-DDR3 ram prices are expensive now (as compared to mid cycle); would it be better to wait till DDR4 comes and also wait for Intel skylake chips during the tick cycle (shrinking of die/low power chips)?

-Are there already processors and boards that sip little electricity (10-20watts) in the market now?

-Is it possible to configure freeNAS to hibernate HDDs or the system automatically (e.g. WOL) to save electricity?

Thanks

marbus90

Guru
Buy 2 new WD Reds and an Avoton C2550 or C2358 mobo, but keep away from the hungry C2550D4I. The bunch of older HDDs isn't really useable with FreeNAS anyway and would suck lots of power. Looking at your capacities, you could even be fine with the 1TB 2.5" HDDs, uses even less energy.

nick779

Contributor
Food for thought, the build in my sig idling uses 34-36W with the drives spinning 24/7. Remove the two WD Blues and im sure it would probably drop another 10W since theyre 7200rpm drives.

pantss

Cadet
Food for thought, the build in my sig idling uses 34-36W with the drives spinning 24/7. Remove the two WD Blues and im sure it would probably drop another 10W since theyre 7200rpm drives.
do the drives always spin or is it configurable? say, putting them to sleep?

nick779

Contributor