Volume won't mount =[

Status
Not open for further replies.

j-rod

Dabbler
I apologize ahead of time for my ignorance (I am new to this stuff) and I hope this isn't a repeat question, but I tried searching for the answers and had no luck =[

Anywho, long story short I have a promise tech SAN connected via fiber to a FreeNAS box, which then hosts NFS shares for some Xen Server hosts. The SAN is separated into one array of SAS drives, and two arrays of SATA drives. I had FreeNAS running for quite some time basically with 1 ZFS volume per array (SAS0, SATA0, SATA1). I haven't really been able to back up anything yet (my co-location goes online tomorrow, go figure).

Now for the problem. The controller in the SAN shut down randomly, so the FreeNAS box could no longer talk to the drives. I got it back up and running, but I had to reboot the FreeNAS box and when it came back up, two of the arrays (SAS0 and SATA0) worked fine, but the other one came up as "WARNING: The Volume SATA1 (ZFS) status is UNKNOWN". I checked the SAN itself and none of the drives failed and the array is still intact and is listed as "OK", so its not hardware.

Here's what I did:

- Rebooted FreeNAS, no luck

- Checked the volumes and it listed SATA1 with errors (Error getting available space, Error getting total space)

- I detached the volume hoping that I could auto import it back in, but it didn't show up in the list.

- If I "Import Volume", select SATA1 as the name, select "multipath/disk1" (which is different from the rest? the others aren't multipath?) I still get "Errors getting available space..." etc.

- I found one suggestion of running "gmultipath destroy disk1" and that removes the multipath AND when I tell it to auto-import volume, SATA1 shows up on the list, but when I finish the import, it isn't listed as a volume. In the spirit of hope, I rebooted but it went back to being a multipath and still wasn't showing up as a volume.