Using FreeNAS to sync files from a Windows Server

RockW

Dabbler
Hi everyone, I'm new to FreeNAS. I work for a small company that has a network of about 15 computers (all Windows 10) and 2 servers (both Windows Server 2016). Recently management approved the purchase of a new server to replace our ageing domain controller so I've completed that project and now I have the decommissioned server set up on the LAN with FreeNAS. Here's the specs: Asus TS500-E6 PS4 with a P5BP-E/4L motherboard (6 onboard SATA connectors, we did not opt for the PIKE card so we miss out on the additional ports unfortunately), two Xeon E5504 cpus and 24 GB ECC ram. I installed FreeNAS on two SanDisk Ultra Fit 64GB usb drives in order to save all the SATA ports for storage. I was left with two 2TB hdds, two 1TB hdds and two 500GB hdds to use for the pool(s). I decided to set up three pools with each of the matching-capacity drives striped together so I could get as much available space as possible - one 3.51TB pool, one 1.76TB pool and one 891GB pool. I am aware that this gives zero redundancy, but all of our critical files currently reside on the domain controller on mirrored data drives with nightly backups going to a D2D device also on the LAN. So if a drive dies in the FreeNAS or I decide to replace all the drives with larger ones down the road I won't be losing anything. Now if a giant meteor hits our building that's a different story... but in that case I'm sure I'll have bigger problems than just missing files.