SOLVED User authentication problem with samba shares

Status
Not open for further replies.

mortar

Dabbler
Hello,

I'm new to freenas, and the initial steps haven't been without problems. One problem is with user authentication in samba shares:

Created two identical datasets, two users (and respective groups) and one samba share for each user. The first user can access/mount both shares (can't write to the second user's share, though), but the second user cannot access/mount any shares. Logging in through ssh works for both users. All the settings visible in the webgui appear the same for both datasets, users and shares as do the shares in smbd's config file. When the second user tries to access/authenticate a share smbd.log says NT_STATUS_ACCESS_DENIED. Tried changing the user password and rebooting the freenas server to no avail.

Is there some config file for samba which has the authentication info and/or share ownership mapping?

Right now, I'm using the latest stable release [FreeNAS-9.3-STABLE-201509022158], but initially I installed a version from May. I remember having problems with guest access to samba, but now a few upgrades later that appears to work fine.

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
  • Post /etc/local/smb4.conf.
  • Post getfacl output for both datasets. I.e. 'getfacl /mnt/tank/dataset1'
Enclose above output in [ code ] tags.

Did you inadvertantly disable password authentication for your second user?

Note that Windows won't let you use two separate sets of credentials for the same share from the same local user account on the windows client.

mortar

Dabbler
  • Post /etc/local/smb4.conf.
  • Post getfacl output for both datasets. I.e. 'getfacl /mnt/tank/dataset1'
Enclose above output in [ code ] tags.

Did you inadvertantly disable password authentication for your second user?

Note that Windows won't let you use two separate sets of credentials for the same share from the same local user account on the windows client.