USB Keyboard Stops Working During Install

Status
Not open for further replies.

Colonel_Korg

Dabbler
I'm new to FreeNAS and to Unix.

I built a machine with the following motherboard:

MSI H97 Motherboard - Intel LGA1150 Socket, Intel H97 Express Chipset, Micro ATX - H97M-E35

Put FreeNAS on a bootable CD-ROM, and booted up from it.

After seeing LOTS of errors on the boot sequence,

I get to this screen:

install2.png

And my USB keyboard stops working.

Any ideas here?

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast
Maybe try one of the black (USB 2.0) ports instead of the blue (USB 3.0) ports?
And read this post first.

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast
Is the Flash Drive in a blue (USB 3.0) port as well?
Use the black port (USB 2.0) for the flash drive too!
Did you read the post I gave you the link to?????

Colonel_Korg

Dabbler
Yes, i read that before I ordered any of the hardware. LOL

yes, I have tried both black and blue ports for the flash drive. I have a smaller drive arriving tomorrow (8gb.) and will see if that work.

With this many issues so early in the install process, I'm sorely tempted to just install windows 7 and be done with it.

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast
Are you seeing the flash drive listed when you reach this point of the install?
Section 2.4 of the manual may be of some help to you (installation trouble shooting)

Last edited:

Colonel_Korg

Dabbler
Yes, I am. I select it with the space bar and that screen shot is what appears a few seconds later when halts.

gpsguy

You might want to use Active@ KillDisk - http://how-to-erase-hard-drive.com/ to wipe the flash drive and try again.

How much RAM do you have in the server?

You might also try doing the install to flash drive in another computer and once you know that you can boot from the flash drive in that machine, move the flash drive to the server.

Colonel_Korg

Dabbler
System is a dual core Intel Celeron 3.4ghz, 8gb DDR3 RAM, 4 x 1GB WD HD's (SATA3).