Unable to properly setup volume and windows CIFS share.

Status
Not open for further replies.

CodFish

Cadet
Hi, I am new to FreeNAS so forgive my noobness. I am running an Atom dual core 64 bit system. Have one 1.5 TB hard drive (for now). I have installed version 8.3 using the iso file on a disc and installed it to a 4 gig USB thumbdrive. Everything seemed to install ok. My problem is that when I try to add the Volume, it doesn't seem to be completely correct and ultimately I can't find it on the network. I've been through the guide and it just isn't guiding me through this :(

Here are the details of what I see that seems wrong:
1. Volume status is unknown as shown on the storage-active volumes screen. When I click on the volume status button I get an error that says, "Sorry, an error occurred"
2. When i attempt to add a Shares-Windows (CIFS) I have to browse to a path. I would assume the path would see any drives/volumes i have setup but it is just blank. The only thing I can do is type in the path that is shown in the storage-active volumes screen but since it doesn't auto-populate it makes me think that my volume isn't setup correctly.

I have spent a few hours troubleshooting this and have gone through several other almost similar posts but couldn't find any exactly like mine.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
I'd try downloading FreeNAS again. 8.3.1 is out so go grab the latest and greatest and reinstalling FreeNAS again. If it asks if you want to upgrade say no. The install CD may have been corrupt or your USB stick may be bad.

If you reinstall FreeNAS and continue to have very weird problems I'd try a different USB stick or a RAM test(memtest x86 works well.... let it run for at least 3 passes).

CodFish

Cadet