Unable to Control Access Groups/Users Windows 7

Status
Not open for further replies.

DeVenice

Cadet
I am a newbie to FreeNAS 9.10.1 (First Time) Setup being said. However, have extensive knowledge with enterprise Lenovo, Synology and QNAP NAS servers, which I understand how to setup users and group access from there user GUI interfaces. Understandable, FreeBSD use UNIX user and group policies. When I use a created user and access a share (SMB) on a window 7 machine it access (all) share names not just that one. How control access to each windows share Read, Write and View Access to SMB shares?

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler

DeVenice

Cadet
The link to monkey was great! (9.10.1) -I setup my volumes/shares, admin rights and able to see them from windows network drives. However, now trying to set security non-inherent from the admin account. After the setup I change the SMB File mask: 0660 / Directory mask: 0770 - But, when I login to windows account and check the ACL (Pemissions for Everyone) still say Read&excute, List folder contents and Read is Allow. I am not sure whey the ACLs are not being set turn off.

DeVenice

Cadet
I found a work around for the SMB File Mask issues... Now trying to add a user I created in FreeNAS to the windows 7 Group and user ACL names but, with no luck - the network can see the other computer but, can not add to ACL user group unable to find. Please someone HELP with the final piece of the puzzle getting my FreeNAS online...

DeVenice

Cadet
Working on setting up FreeNAS for over 4 Days! – ENOUGH is ENOUGH (Open Source – 200K people working on project - I can tell) computer companies and business need confidence in a product – running their business and protecting critical data.

I REALLY CANNOT GET THE DOMAIN/SMB (USER) TO WORK IN WINDOWS (4 DAYS NOTING) TIME IS MONEY and MONEY IS TIME!