Thinking about jumping on the NAS hypetrain...

tylerpnn

Cadet
Hi all,

I'm a long time linux user and so for my home server I have clung to a old school linux server setup for many years. I am a software engineer by trade but don't have a ton of experience with server administration. I run a Plex server which is shared with a decent amount of people and at any given moment will have 5-10 people streaming from it. I'm using a AMD threadripper processor for the server, and I have a simple setup with two pairs of 10TB drives in raid1.

Currently I know very little about what a NAS is capable of, and I'm making this thread to figure out if the plan I have in mind is feasible. I would like to keep my plex server and web servers running on the linux machine I have, but have the data come from a separate NAS. I understand that AMD processors do not work for NAS too well so that way I could keep the cost of the NAS down. I have an Intel i7-6700k processor laying around from my last PC upgrade that I could use, though I'm sure its overkill for this.

With a NAS, is it possible to have the NAS drives mounted/accessible on both the linux server and my windows desktop?

danb35

Hall of Famer
With a NAS, is it possible to have the NAS drives mounted/accessible on both the linux server and my windows desktop?
Of course it is. Set up as many shares as you want, and mount them on whatever clients work for you.

diedrichg

Wizard
When I first started with FeeeNAS I thought I could cheap out and use consumer-grade hardware. Within a week I was getting corrupted files. Being a family file server this was unacceptable. I switched to a Supermicro motherboard, supported CPU, supported RAM and everything has been going great for 6 years! Where I was trying to save money with the consumer hardware I wound up spending well over the budget having to do it properly.

Lesson learned. Don't cheap out, spend a few extra dollars at the beginning.