Stuttering movie playback in QuickTime

xjarty

Cadet
Hi everyone! I'm new to TrueNAS and the community, so please be gentle. ;)

I recently set up a remote TrueNAS server to stream movies over the internet. I'm having trouble getting smooth playback, the movies tend to stutter. I'll explain my setup below, hopefully someone may have insight?

My goal is to play MP4 movies in QuickTime on my Mac over an AFP share. I know a lot of folks use Plex for this, but I'm hoping to keep it simpler. I'm just opening the movie files from the AFP share into QuickTime Player. When I first open a movie I can see that it buffers for a few seconds (observed in the network activity). I press play and playback is smooth for several seconds, then it starts to stutter. If I pause the movie for a few seconds to let it buffer it will start playing smoothly for a few more seconds, but then it starts to stutter again. Pausing for longer doesn't help, QuickTime won't buffer any further. It's not just a problem with QuickTime, I've seen the same behavior in VLC and when playing the movie in Safari using an HTML5 <video> tag.

I don't think my internet connection should be the problem. The remote server has a 100 Mbps uplink, I've confirmed this speed by downloading large files from the server to my Mac. My personal internet connection is close to 1 Gbps and I've confirmed I can truly achieve this speed. The remote server lives in the same city, and I get ping times of 15-25 ms.