Starting to look towards a build...researching hardware.

Status
Not open for further replies.

wynnefraser

Cadet
I've been running a Synology RS812 for a number of years now, but hitting the limit of maximum volume size of 16TB and starting to look at my next option and where to go next for my storage needs. Mainly long term video file storage (I work in the television industry and have a large amount of ProRes HD footage that I was to keep) and also a collection of TV Show/Movies that I want to watch across my local network on my laptop and some small Intel Skeleton computers on TV's that I've got.

Starting to look towards the possibility of building a 2U case with 12 Hard Drive bays, to format with two volumes of 6 drives setup with Raidz2. Starting off with a single 6 drive volume to begin with, and eventually expand the storage with another set of 6 drives.

From my research so far, and having had Asus computers previously and a good history with their gear I'd like to use them where possible. This is the hardware list that I've come up with so-far...prices are from Scropion Technology in Australia (I'm in Melbourne)...

Silverstone RM212 2U Rackmount Case - $599
Asus P10S-M WS Motherboard - $370
HyperX Fury HX424C15FB2K2/16 16gb Ram - $259

Would like the thought of running the Freenas off 2x USB keys, if it could be setup to run redundantly too in-order to allow fall-over if one of them were to fail eventually. Looking for thoughts and feedback from those who have done it all before me...

kdragon75

Wizard
I can't comment on the hardware side much but the HyperX Fury RAM is a bit silly. If you buying new hardware get ECC memory. For FreeNAS and video archival/streaming/transcoding ANY DDR4 will be fast enough. It make more sense to get the RAM that will ensure end to end file integrity.