SSD vs SATADOM

Status
Not open for further replies.

BamBamm

Patron
Last edited:

mjt5282

Contributor
I am not an expert in SSD vs. SATADOMs, both of my server chassis are full (16 disks) so I couldn't use another drive as the boot drive, the SATADOM has worked out really well for me so far. They are small and convenient, are have been reliable so far for me (Supermicro X10 motherboard). My backup server had a standard USB drive and encountered I/O errors. SO, I migrated the backup to SATADOM as well.

BamBamm

Patron
I think I found my answer... The SSD that was recommended to me is a SATA II, however the DOM is a SATA III.
The difference is 3Gb/s interface vs. 6Gb/s interface... The DOM's interface is faster, the DOM is cheaper, thus better IMHO...

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast
the DOM is cheaper
Because it's made with low cost/low quality MLC nand chips
Cheaper almost never (hardly ever) means dependable quality, it just means cheap :rolleyes:

mjt5282

Contributor
I think I found my answer... The SSD that was recommended to me is a SATA II, however the DOM is a SATA III.
The difference is 3Gb/s interface vs. 6Gb/s interface... The DOM's interface is faster, the DOM is cheaper, thus better IMHO...

well, it might boot faster with a SATADOM but once it reads the kernel and the drivers into memory, it doesn't really use the boot drive for disk I/O all that much. Better to invest in a large amount of RAM server your FreeNAS server ... in most cases the DOM will be cheaper than a whole SSD. In enterprise ZFS use cases, SSD drives are frequently used for synchronous write acceleration (intent log) and second level cache (ARC). see http://constantin.glez.de/blog/2011/02/frequently-asked-questions-about-flash-memory-ssds-and-zfs
for more information on these subjects.

BamBamm

Patron
Yeah, but this is receiving some good reviews.

solarisguy

Guru
I would recommend SATADOM to those who have two such ports. My motherboard has one...

Arwen

MVP