Slow File Transfer to NAS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sir_Redrum

Dabbler
I have just setup FreeNAS 8 onto my new NAS (see sig for details) and I am getting extremely slow transfer speeds from my desktop to my NAS.

Both my desktop and the NAS have gigabit NICs and my router (Billion 7800N) has gigabit ports. My desktop is connected to the router via CAT5 and the NAS is connected via a CAT6 cable.

There is only 1 hard drive in the NAS at the moment and is formatted for UFS.

I have setup a network share for windows. I can see it fine on my Windows 7 64bit but when I drag an 8GB file into the share, it only copies it across at 3-4MB/s which I think is very slow.

I read a lot of threads here first so when I setup the share I enabled Large RW Support, Send Files with sendfile(2) and enabled AIO.

Any ideas on what to check for? I am new to FreeNAS so learning a lot along the way with lots of research.

that's a Very low end box. you need no less than 2 GB of ram, I'd highly recommend 4-8. that's also a very low end cpu. I'd bet more memory would give you an order of magnitude increase but i doubt you'll see real gigabit speed with that setup.

Sir_Redrum

Dabbler
CPU should be fine as I checked the processes and it wasn't using a whole heap while transferring. Benchmarks have this CPU outpacing the Intel ATOM CPU's in the QNAP units etc. So extra RAM helps speed up file transfer over the network?

no, extra ram allows zfs to work properly and access files at decent rate. thus allowing you to move files at a decent rate.

Sir_Redrum

Dabbler
Ok, I'm just a little confused. So even though my drive is formatted for UFS, ZFS is involved as well?

Sir_Redrum

Dabbler
WOOOOOHHHOOOOOOOO. I added 8GB of non ECC RAM and it changed speeds to average about 10MB/s (it was about 3-4MB/s).

It was an improvement but not enough. I then formatted the drive and created the volume again using ZFS rather than UFS and now I am averaging between 80-90MB/s :D

So Happy now.