Shw mae from Wil.

Status
Not open for further replies.

PenalunWil

Contributor
Shw mae or should I say hello from Wil. I'm a total newbie to Freenas and indeed to the technicalities of computers. After a total computer crash before Christmas I decided that I should look for a safer way to protect my data. So I'm going to build my own NAS box.

gpsguy

Welcome to the FreeNAS forums! Have you been affected by the rain & flooding? I live on the other side of the pond, but listen to the BBC now and then.

I see that you've met the mean dog. Don't let him scare you off. ;)

As you think about hardware, read the So you want some hardware suggestions thread.

PenalunWil

Contributor
Hi gpsguy,

Thanks for the welcome. The weather here in the UK has been bad, especially on the west coast of Wales. We've been lucky in the Tenby area, but other parts of Wales have not been so lucky as they have had flooding and road collapses etc. Which part of the USA do you come from?

Yeppers I've met Mean Dog, but fair play to him he just high lighted something I overlooked to do with how long a blog thread has been running. I've read the rules and conditions for the forum and I promise I'll try and be as good a boy as possible :D having said that I've been looking at those that have joined the forum and its pretty obvious they seem to realise, in some cases too late, that they need a better solution to data storage, which is the main reason why I'm here. Just before Christmas my computer went down with a black monitor. Fortunately after a bit of research it boiled down to a flat battery on the mother board, and I retrieved my data. The Christmas turkey didn't quite have the same taste but hey I'm one happy chappy. That was the warning from the big computer God in the sky... get yourself sorted Wil.