Setting up bios to begin using freenas

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lightperfect

Dabbler
Dear all,
i am really new to freenas. been searching on the forum for about 2days for all the question and answers, i have installed freenas on my usb drive with no problem. when i login and ready to format my hard drive. i ran into a same problem as this post: http://forums.freenas.org/threads/8-3-not-showing-hdd.10997/#post-50323

The hard drive I use is wd black 1t. With windows7 install on it.
Do I have to format my hard drive with windows disk first before I can see the hard drive in the browser? Seems like I can't find my hard showing up on the browser at all.. What did I do wrong?

Thanks for your all help

Sam

Lightperfect

Dabbler
I am using the latest freenas 9.1.x

gpsguy

No, don't format it with Windows, you'll want to erase your disk.

This is a quick way of doing it from the console. The example uses ada3, you'd need to replace it with your device (probably ada0)..

Here's the magic incantation for wiping the beginnning & end of your disk(s), replace ada3 with your disk/device:

Code:
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/ada3 bs=1m count=1

dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/ada3 bs=1m oseek=`diskinfo ada3 | awk '{print int($3 / (1024*1024)) - 4;}'`

Lightperfect

Dabbler
Ok I will give it a try when I get home.

What you meant by posting to console is the blinking black screen and says select option 1-11. Right?

Thanks so much for the quick reply.

Sam

pirateghost

Unintelligible Geek
You can enable ssh and use putty to connect to the console. Makes it easy to run commands.

However, you should still be able to see the drive in the GUI. It shouldn't require a wipe just to get it to show up...
Please verify that you're not using raid in your motherboard bios and you are not using chipset that is unsupported.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus

Lightperfect

Dabbler
You can enable ssh and use putty to connect to the console. Makes it easy to run commands.