Sabnzbd permissions problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amir2

Cadet
Hey so this is my first time using Freenas so there's a bit of a learning curve for me. I've set up a Freenas box, and using parts of Josh Ruehlig guide i've managed to install the plugins to sab, mylar, couchpotato, and sonarr all within one jail. All configured and they seem to be working accept for the permissions part. Whenever i start sab it always starts up with this error,
Cannot change permissions of /mnt/media1/downloads/sabnzbd/incomplete
I have created a user and group within freenas called media, that has a group id of 816. I've also created a dataset called media1, changed its user/group owner to the media group i made in its permission option menu, and mounted it into the jail at /mnt/media1 and i can confirm it is added to the jail as i can see it through ssh. I've tried giving it permissions through
chown -R media:media /mnt/media1
However this doesn't seem to help. Running the command ls -l on /mnt outputs this
root@sabnzbd_1:/mnt # ls -l
total 1
drwxrwxr-x+ 6 media media 6 Mar 8 04:22 media1
drwxr-xr-x 2 root wheel 2 Mar 8 00:33 media2 (old dataset that i removed)
at this point, im pretty stuck and any help would be appreciated

Quick Edit
I have media that i have stored in the /media1 dataset that i have been able to successfully import into both couchpotato and sonarr, so im not sure if thats an important detail. The problem seems to be that sab is unable to write to my media1 dataset although im unsure if the other plugins have the same problem

Last edited:

Joshua Parker Ruehlig

Hall of Famer
it looks like everything under /mnt/media1 should be writable by sabnzbd
can you show the below
Code:
ls -l /mnt/media1

also did you happen to check Windows permissions on your media dataset?

Amir2

Cadet
Here's what it outputs,
drwxrwxr-x+ 215 media media 215 Mar 8 04:37 Comics
drwxrwxr-x+ 178 media media 178 Mar 7 11:51 Movies
drwxrwxr-x+ 25 media media 25 Mar 7 22:34 TV