Raid1 Dell Optiplex 745 (2 X 1TB) Data Migration to Raid1 Dell Poweredge T100 (2 X 2TB)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ethan Tran

Dabbler
Hi FreeNAS community,

I am a novice at FreeNAS but am familiar with the environment and have followed numerous guides to successfully created plex servers, openvpn & owncloud. I need some help in migrating my current Raid1 data & setup to a completely new raid1 setup and hardware. The data that I am trying to migrate is mainly media (about 600GB for plex) and a CIF directory with my personal backup data.

The breakdown:
I would like to migrate my existing Raid1 data to an entirely new Raid1 setup while keeping all of my existing data:
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
FreeNAS-9.2.1.7-RELEASE-x64 (fdbe9a0)

OLD SETUP:
Dell Optiplex 745
Intel Core2duo 6700 2.66GHz
8GB DDR2 RAM
2 x 1TB (HITACHI HUA721010KLA330) (ada0 & ada1)
1 X USB Flash for FreeNAS (Kingston Datatraveler 2.0)

NEW SETUP:
Dell Poweredge T110
Intel Xeon X3430 2.40GHz
12GB DDR3 RAM
2 x 2TB (SAMSUNG HD204UI)
1 x USB Flash for FreeNAS (I will use old kingston datatraveler)

I have read on some similar scenarios but have not found one exactly for FreeNAS.

1) An example that I don't know will work will to purposely degrade 1 drive from the existing setup (Hitachi 1 x 1TB) and replace it with 1 newer drive (Samsung 1 x 2TB) and rebuild it to mirror that of the now 1 existing Hitachi 1 x 1TB, then remove the 1 Hitachi 1 x 1TB & replace it with the other Samsung 1 x 2TB drive and begin the rebuilding process again. Then move all hardware to the new setup.

2) Another scenario is migrate the hardware from the existing to the new setup using all of the old hard drives along with the new Samsung 2TB resulting in 4 drives in the new Dell T100. Then go in and create a new raid1 setup with the new 2TB drives and manually copying the data from the old 1TB raid1 setup to the new 2TB raid1 setup.