Fool-proof RAID setup for natural disaster

borisko

Cadet
Hi everyone, pardon my questions if they're basic but despite my extensive searches I'm still new to Freenas and raid formats.

I am trying to achieve the perfect balance of redundancy, performance and safety in a home-enterprise environment.

My issue: the place I live in (Philippines) has risks of earthquake and other natural disasters, thus would need something I can grab and take "on the go" in case something goes wrong.

I have a 4TB Seagate backup plus external hard drive that I was thinking will be used for just that.

Here was my initial thought:

Get 2x4TB hdds (probably some WD red) set as mirrored/raid1 (for complete redundancy) and my external hdd as the 3rd mirror of those two.

I know it sounds overkill and a big loss of storage space, but I value safety over all as this will hold my daily data as well as some backups (will set up a 3rd back up off-site system along the way later).

Is it the best solution or the right raid setup though? Or at least is it possible to have 2 mirrors of a single drive under raid1 (and does it very badly affect performance)

Lastly, In case of natural disaster, can I just grab the external HDD and expect it to mount as a regular drive on another computer (which is the actual purpose of this setup).

Thanks in advance for your inputs!

NASbox

Guru
How are you creating the backup on the external HD? If you are using your PC to do it, than that should be fine, otherwise I would not recommend using a USB drive directly on FreeNAS. ZFS over USB is a disaster waiting to happen. You are also not going to be able to mount ZFS on Windows or MAC AFAIK-there may be a program to do it, but maybe someone else can tell you. Otherwise Linux can mount ZFS if you install ZFS support.