BUILD Promise Supertrak EX8350 installation

Status
Not open for further replies.

skidrash

Dabbler
I am totally new to BSD, though I have done some work in Linux (just enough to make BSD feel completely alien to me...).

I have a Promise Supertrak EX8350 (8port SATA II RAID), and I can't get it visible in FreeNAS. I have set all the drives to JBOD, and the BTX loader mentions them as it fly's by (I dont' know if that is any significance), but nothing in FreeNAS.

I've read some other people on the forum mention this card but never a solid answer. I have found the FreeBSD drivers for it here:
http://www.promise.com/single_page_session/page.aspx?region=en-global&m=719&sub_m=sub_m_8&rsn=144
But I haven't a clue how to load a driver in BSD.

Following a sugestion in another post I downloaded the FreeBSD live image to see if the controller comes up in FBSD. I can't burn a disk right now, and all I had was a 1gb thumb drive, so I could only fit FBSD9.1. Booted that and it left me at a terminal (I thought FBSD had a GUI?). Logged in as root, and now I don't know what to look for to see if the controller is working...

I trying to build my first NAS and struggling... I'm considering FreeNAS, NAS4Free, or OpenMediaVault. Right now OMV is the winner because it is the only one that loads my 8350 right out of the box. However it doesn't feel as refined as FN or N4F, and I would really like to give them a go. I would like to support 9-10 drives plus port multipliers for external expantion, hence the 8port 8350 controller. I considered purchasing a "cheap" non-raid card, but anything over 4 ports gets expensive (ITX mobo, so only one PCIE).

Any help getting this 8350 working would be appreciated.

Thankyou,

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Here's some info and requests:

1. In FreeNAS, with the controller installed and hard drives attached to it, paste the output of camcontrol devlist -v. Paste the output inside of [CODE][/CODE] to keep the formatting.