PowerEdge backplane with ServeRaid M1015

Status
Not open for further replies.

caustic386

Cadet
Like many of you, I'm averse to buying new hardware whenever I can avoid it. In my environment, we have a PowerEdge 2900 that I feel would be appropriate for FreeNAS. 40GB RAM, 8 core, 10x146GB 15K drives. Of course PERCs don't play well with ZFS, so I as a newb I will go with the recommended M1015.

My question: is it possible to connect this the 1015 to the Dell backplane? It appears to be a standard 8087 connector, but I'm not sure if Dell has some firmware in place to block "unsupported" connections. Definitely a fringe case, but I'm hoping someone has something similar who can comment?

TasMot

Dabbler
Like many of you, I'm averse to buying new hardware whenever I can avoid it. In my environment, we have a PowerEdge 2900 that I feel would be appropriate for FreeNAS. 40GB RAM, 8 core, 10x146GB 15K drives. Of course PERCs don't play well with ZFS, so I as a newb I will go with the recommended M1015.

My question: is it possible to connect this the 1015 to the Dell backplane? It appears to be a standard 8087 connector, but I'm not sure if Dell has some firmware in place to block "unsupported" connections. Definitely a fringe case, but I'm hoping someone has something similar who can comment?

Did you ever get an answer or try this? I am in the same boat. PowerEdge 2900 III with a 6/i in place. I would like to just replace the controller with a non-RAID card like the 1015, re-plug all the cables and be ready to go. Does anyone know if this will work?
Thanks

petr

Contributor
Did you ever get an answer or try this? I am in the same boat. PowerEdge 2900 III with a 6/i in place. I would like to just replace the controller with a non-RAID card like the 1015, re-plug all the cables and be ready to go. Does anyone know if this will work?
Thanks