Planning a FreeNAS Server for Media storage and streaming

Status
Not open for further replies.

amitkhas

Dabbler
For let me start off that I'm a complete noob when it comes to setting up a RAID. I have never done one before, but I have been reading quite a bit about it, which has ultimately led me to this site. I am now planning to build a RAID server, and had some questions about it. Mainly to dispel the conflicting stuff I've read online.

The intention is to build a RAID 5 (5x or 6x 2TB HDs) that will be used as a media server for my music, pictures, and videos. I would like to stream 1080p video from this RAID'd media server. Media server should be Windows friendly.

1. I like the idea of RAID 5 in that you get a fault tolerance while having a lot of storage space. However, I've read that RAID 5 is risky in that sense that corruption can occur and that recoveries often fail. They say that restoring with a RAID 5 can be very difficult, and can fail. Despite having no more than 1 HD fail, it is very possible that the RAID won't be re-buildable. Are these statements true?

2. In the event that you have a 1x HD failure in a RAID 5, how easy is it to rebuild the RAID with FreeNAS? Is it just a matter of shutting down, placing in a new HD, and starting back up?

3. Once the RAID 5 is up and running, how hard is it to expand it? Let's say I fill up the space, and want to expand it. Can I just replace the HDs one by one with larger HDs, and let the RAID 5 rebuild itself each time until I've put in a whole new set of HDs?