Not able to configure MiniDLNA plugin

Status
Not open for further replies.

braajun

Cadet
Hi guys,

I'm pretty new to FreeNAS, but it looks a great product!
I did a fresh install of 8.2.0-RELEASED-P1 a got a working system with CIFS. Now, I wanted DLNA-support for my Samsung TV.

I created the jail and the Plugins services starts. Next, I installed the minidlna-1.0.22_3-amd64 plugin. It installs just fine, but after that, there should me an entry under 'Services -> Plugins -> MiniDLNA' where you can configure MiniDLNA. The problem is that it's not visible! So I have no way to confige MiniDLNA! :-(

Can someone please help me? It's much appreciated!

Thanks in advance.

Brian

venkavis

Explorer
Hi

I also had the same problem, But then when I looked at the logs it seemed that this was something related to the ip address I gabe for the jaol.

For example my my freenas server has an ip address of 192.168.0.120
So I thought I will give the next ip as the free one and hence I configured as 192.168.0.121 and set the media directory.
When I installed the miniDLNA Would not add under the services and gave an error when I started the plug in.

Hence I change the IP address to 192.168.0.160 for jail and then deleted the plug in and then installed the miniDLNA again. Now It got added underneath the plugin tree and also started.

So the above steps may solve your problem.

Even if it started, Now I have another problem like ' I am not able to find the dlna server from my dlna client'. I am searching the forums for an answer.

Hope somebody out there with the experience in DLNA, miniDLNA and freeNAS can answer step by step config and how this really benefits.

For now even though the miniDLNA is running, I am just using the CIFS share to connect to my windows media center and PC's and accessing the content like Music, Pictures and Videos.

~Venkat

venkavis

Explorer
--Update--