No Video card?

Status
Not open for further replies.

shinigaimi

Cadet
hey guys I am new to Freenas and I am wondering if it is required to have a video card installed on the server AFTER its installed? in order to keep running?

I will be using Freenas 8
and also the hardware will be

Asus a8n0 SLI Deluxe
4Gig total - DDR 1G sticks
AMD Socket 939

this is an old rig, will it be sufficient for FreeNas?

Thanks!

ProtoSD

MVP
hey guys I am new to Freenas and I am wondering if it is required to have a video card installed on the server AFTER its installed? in order to keep running?

I will be using Freenas 8
and also the hardware will be

Asus a8n0 SLI Deluxe
4Gig total - DDR 1G sticks
AMD Socket 939

this is an old rig, will it be sufficient for FreeNas?

Thanks!

It should work just fine.

EDIT: WTF???? When I replied to your message it had no hardware info, yet in the quoted reply it shows up. Also the original message you posted still doesn't show the hardware info that 'magically' appeared in the quoted part above?????

Anyway, I use that same motherboard for my MythTV system. I think there are 1 or 2 other people that have used it here for FreeNAS.

shinigaimi

Cadet
haha I am not to sure why it didn't show up lol, I figured I should post my hardware to see if anything wont work :)

Also for the video card issue how would I use it without a video card ? after it installs just log into the system and just remove the video card and it will be fine ?

Milhouse

Guru
Also for the video card issue how would I use it without a video card ? after it installs just log into the system and just remove the video card and it will be fine ?