Advice Needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

M.A.H

Cadet
Hi,
I am building my first freenas server out of my old pc and needed some advice on which raid option to go for as I have never used raid before.
Here are the specs:

CPU: AMD Athlon X2 dual core 2 GHz
Motherboard: Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe with 2x Gigabit Ethernet
RAM: 4GB DDR
Standard PCIE Radeon HD Graphics
HDD's
2x 3TB Seagate
3x 1TB Hitachi
1x 500GB Seagate
1x 500GB Hitachi

I have read that it is recommended to have 1GB ram to 1TB hdd because the ZFS file system uses alot of ram but I dont mind if its slightly slow because this server is only going to be used for backups only and switched on every 2 or 3 weeks for backups then switched off. My motherboard has 8 sata ports in total but 4 of them are for raid and the other 4 are for normal use. I know I must put the setting to JBOD in bios so I can use all 8 sata ports as normal use and let freenas software to handle the raid. I have about 6TB of data to backup and with the HDD's I have totaling 10TB I have 4TB for redundancy. I don't know which raid setup would give me the storage space needed with redundancy. Is there some sort of a chart where I can check 10TB or any size of hdd's with raid x would give me x amount of storage space and x amount for redundancy. I may even need more hdds to handle the redundancy so my question is which raid setup would suit me best and would allow me to have enough storage space with redundancy?

Also If I change the hardware in the future with new cpu, motherboard, ram will it effect the data in any way? Do I have to reinstall freenas? Or can I just swap out the old hardware with new hardware and it works normally.

Thanks

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Mixing and matching hard drive sizes with ZFS doesn't work well. You are always limited to the smallest drive, just as a hardware RAID would be.

gpsguy