Newbie to FreeNAS: need your simple explanations and advises

Status
Not open for further replies.

NewUser68

Cadet
Hello,
I read freeNAS documentation, wiki, forum and trying to understand what is what... :)
Sometimes it's a bit difficult to understand as I'm really a newbie on this, so if you can help me with some simple explanation and advises it will be very helpful.

I read some tutorials and I think it's not that difficult to install and configure what I am trying to build but not clearly understand which config suits good for my usage.

I am trying to build a data server for my home usage:
- this data server stores pictures, movies (Bluray backup) and music files
- access those files through home network from WD Live hub.
- access those files through home network from home theater Windows PC
- access those files through home network from other handheld devices (android/iOS)
- access those files through home network from my LED TV (Samsung)

I want the server be able to restore data in case of ONE disk failure
I intend to build a server with max 6 HDDs

The HW config is as follow:
- Asus Vintage V6-M4A3000E (http://www.asus.com/Barebone_PC/V_Series_2530L/V6M4A3000E/#specifications)
- AMD Athlon II X2 250 (is it possible to use AMD sempron 140 [Socket AM3 - 1024Kb - 2.7 GHz - 45nm ]???)
- DDR3 8GB [2x4GB] (KINGSTON Value [KVR1333D3N9K2/8G])
- HDD (mostly likely SATA300 1.5To (1500GB) - 5400 SAMSUNG SpinPoint). I already have 2 of those HDDs. Is it possible to mix 1.5T HDD with 2T HDDs?
- USB Memory stick (4GB for freeNAS boot)

I saw using ZFS with RAID-Z1 (without undrstanding what is really ZFS and RAID-Z1 even after reading some wikis, but this is not my question :)) could be ok for my usage and requirements.

Could you guys help me and tell me if my HW config and FreeNAS with ZFS, RAID-Z1 are ok for my usage.

Thanks you all...

iJimmyC

Dabbler
I am trying to build a data server for my home usage: