New to FreeNAS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Raughnbo

Cadet
Hello, everyone, I am Raughnbo, and I'm new to FreeNAS. In 2015 I built an HTPC with running Kodi and Steam Big Picture Mode on Windows 10 using Tuukka at My Media Experience to guide me.

http://mymediaexperience.com/

Now I would like to build my own FreeNAS box as a home server using Brian Moses DIY NAS: 2016 Edition as a guide.

http://blog.brianmoses.net/2016/02/diy-nas-2016-edition.html

I would like to run a Plex Server, a MediaMonkey server, a Calibre server, and a Minecraft server. I would also like to run CrashPlan, ownCloud.

See you in the forums. Best regards,

~Raughnbo

Spearfoot

He of the long foot
Hello, everyone, I am Raughnbo, and I'm new to FreeNAS. In 2015 I built an HTPC with running Kodi and Steam Big Picture Mode on Windows 10 using Tuukka at My Media Experience to guide me.

http://mymediaexperience.com/

Now I would like to build my own FreeNAS box as a home server using Brian Moses DIY NAS: 2016 Edition as a guide.

http://blog.brianmoses.net/2016/02/diy-nas-2016-edition.html

I would like to run a Plex Server, a MediaMonkey server, a Calibre server, and a Minecraft server. I would also like to run CrashPlan, ownCloud.

See you in the forums. Best regards,

~Raughnbo
Welcome to the forum!

I recommend you do some research here before you make any purchases. That Brian Moses fellow makes some questionable design decisions, in particular:
  • He's "confident in using non-ECC RAM" for FreeNAS servers, in contrast to most (all?) of the experts here, who pretty much all agree that that if you value your data, you should use ECC RAM.
  • He recommends the ASRock C2750 motherboard; several users here have reported problems with this board. Your mileage may vary, of course, but there are other (and cheaper) alternatives.