New to FreeNAS, diskless installation and setup

Status
Not open for further replies.

jkim

Dabbler
Hi,

I'm completely new to FreeNAS, and I can't for the life of me work out a couple of things.

I am setting up on an HP MS Gen8 Celeron with 16Gb RAM, using the microSD as boot drive, and 4 x 6Tb disks, intending to RAIDZ2.
I was formerly running OMV with linux ZFS, but found a few minor annoyances (i.e. pppd/l2tpd packet misalignment), so decided to take the dive in giving FreeNAS a go.

I have run into deal breaker issues that may be due to my own ignorance or may be due to product limitations.

1. Diskless installation and setup.
All of the instructions I've seen require creating the disks before performing configuration.
I don't want to do this.
I want to configure everything except disk and shares first, and then add the disks in later, set up zfs and set up cifs/samba as the very last activity after testing the rest of the installation is perfect.
Is there a method to do this?
An example is the user home directory, which I can't seem to set. I get an error about mount points... but the OS disk (microSD) should be a valid mount point, should it not? So why can't I do:
Shell-> cd / -> mkdir home, then create user through the GUI, setting the home folder to /home/userabc ?
Another is plugins, which won't display/install because there are no volumes (except the boot volume).

2. DNS resolution
I have to enter the IP and not the name of the machine.
I can't seem to set up mDNS in my diskless installation (don't see any menus for it anywhere).
Altering my host file on the PCs that will connect to the NAS is not a solution - the NAS must broadcast via my router to the rest of my PCs.
This worked out of the box with zero configuration for OMV, but does not seem to work at all for FreeNAS.
I have tried:
- Setting DNS1 to the IP of my router
- Setting and resetting the host name