VMware and NFS - A Better Way?

Status
Not open for further replies.

hermanpeckel

Dabbler
I've been using FreeNAS at home for some time now and I'm a big fan. Embarrassingly though, it has been a bit of a "set and forget" job and it's only now that I'm wanting to tune things.

I have a diskless VM host that connects to my FreeNAS via iSCSI. The FreeNAS is an N54L with 4 x 3TB drives that I set up in RAIDZ giving 7.7TB usable. On that I made one huge pool and set up all my VMware servers in that pool. My fileserver is the main disk hog as all my media files are on that server.

Now, let's just say, performance isn't great. I realise it is down to my rubbish configuration, so what I was going to do was bite the bullet, back it all up, and start again.

I need about 1.5TB of disk space for my servers, and some sort of file storage. I was thinking 1.5TB VM storage and the rest direct access via NFS.

As you can tell, I'm no expert, so any advice would be great!

Thanks!!
HP

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
I've been using FreeNAS at home for some time now and I'm a big fan. Embarrassingly though, it has been a bit of a "set and forget" job and it's only now that I'm wanting to tune things.

I have a diskless VM host that connects to my FreeNAS via iSCSI. The FreeNAS is an N54L with 4 x 3TB drives that I set up in RAIDZ giving 7.7TB usable. On that I made one huge pool and set up all my VMware servers in that pool. My fileserver is the main disk hog as all my media files are on that server.

Now, let's just say, performance isn't great. I realise it is down to my rubbish configuration, so what I was going to do was bite the bullet, back it all up, and start again.

I need about 1.5TB of disk space for my servers, and some sort of file storage. I was thinking 1.5TB VM storage and the rest direct access via NFS.

As you can tell, I'm no expert, so any advice would be great!

Thanks!!
HP