BUILD New build - C2750D4I, to USB 3.0?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TrevorX

Explorer
Hello,

First time with everything FreeBSD/FreeNAS etc - I'm a Microsoft-based architect and consultant, so I'm pretty good with everything Windows and Hyper-V, but I need a new reliable storage system at home and REFS is just too immature at this point, while FreeNAS seems to have come along in leaps and bounds the last five years (I've been reading sporadically from the sidelines).

My existing home workstation runs 8 disks in RAID6 on an Areca controller, but it wigged out one day last year and I got about 5% corruption (not sure of cause, chkdsk just started prompting out of the blue, I noticed files went missing, several passes of chkdsk restored some of them but a whole lot just evaporated). My work stuff is all well backed up, but there are too many movies on there for me to have a comprehensive backup so some of that got damaged and lost. Considering the expense and effort I went to to design a system that should be impervious to that (the Areca card even does redundancy scrubbing checks against parity data, similar to ZFS), I felt a bit cheated.

So now I want to separate my computer from the data, like I would with any work environment. I want the file server to do just that - while streaming media is useful, I'm not doing anything stupid with it like domain management or VM hosting - other systems can handle those tasks without complicating (and possibly compromising) the task of data storage.

Sorry for the background - I'll cut to the chase. Here's my build. I've skimmed through the FreeNAS manual (and read several sections properly) and I'm feeling fairly confident I'm across the basics, but in my experience it never hurts to ask stupid questions of people who are experts. So if you wouldn't mind, I'd love to have my specs critiqued, possible issues pointed out and one specific question answered.