SOLVED Network Error 0x8007003B, Can copy from FreeNAS to Windows but not the other way round

Status
Not open for further replies.

burnthelies

Dabbler
G'day everyone.

I'm a complete noob when it comes to FreeNAS but have a long relationship with computers, tech etc. and am looking for some help.

Background:

I built a NAS from scratch and installed FreeNAS on it. Can't remember all of the specifics off the top of my head but it is running a server motherboard with Intel Xeon E3-1220 v5 @ 3.00GHz, 32gb of ECC RAM and has 4 x 6tb Western Digital hard drives in it (the ones designed for NAS use).

I followed the documentation to get whatever the current version of FreeNAS was at the time installed and configured. After a little bit of fiddling around everything was working perfectly.

Current problem:

For the past 12-ish months everything continued to work fine however recently i started having problems with downloading files straight to the NAS.

While i don't use torrents a lot, i found that a large download (10gb) i was saving straight to the NAS had downloaded ~40gb and still was not complete. After looking at things more closely it was like it was losing data somehow - the download would finish and then instantly drop back to a random percent complete.

Thinking it was linked to torrents i didn't worry about it and just stopped using it when i couldn't work out the cause (i figured it was the torrent program or some network error with my aging laptop).

Fast forward another couple of months and i've bought a new laptop but continue to have the same problems, which forced me to do some troubleshooting.

Problem definition:
- I can copy files of any size from the NAS to any computer or tablet on our network
- I cannot copy files greater than a few megabytes in size to the NAS from any computer or tablet on our network