NAS seems really slow

Status
Not open for further replies.

FlyingPersian

Patron
Hi
I've been replacing some stuff in my Plex Media Server lately and in doing so I have to extract/move some stuff around. I've noticed that once I extract/move a movie my server gets really slow. Searching in Plex takes minutes sometimes and ruTorrent doesn't read files in the watch dir for quite some time. Also the stuff I have in my Plex library takes forever to load. Once the extraction is done everything becomes normal again. I don't think I had that before, so I'd like to know if there's anything I can do except upgrading my hardware.

I have 6 WD Reds 4TB in a RAIDz2 (I think :D) with an Intel G3220, 16GB RAM (I know I should have more, but I'm a poor student) and the newest 9.3 version of FreeNAS. Any suggestions?

Bidule0hm

Server Electronics Sorcerer
How full is your pool?

FlyingPersian

Patron
It was at 90% 3 days ago, now it's at 87%. I'm working on reducing the stuff I have so near 75%. Is that the reason? It has been full like this for a while now, mostly around 85-87%, but as far as I remember it wasn't as slow as it's now. Again, it's only slow when stuff is being extracted, not when everything is on "idle".

Bidule0hm

Yes, don't search any further. ZFS switch from speed optimisation to space optimisation when you cross the 90 % limit. That's why it's recommended to not fill the pool more than 80 % (so you have time to expand it before hitting 90 %)

Bidule0hm

Yes, but the fragmentation will still be here so don't expect too much though.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Sure, but you might not like the advice. Running torrents or anything else doing lots of reading and writing tends to cause fragmentation on the pool. 10% isn't horrible but it also isn't great.