NAS config verification

Status
Not open for further replies.

sheld0r

Dabbler
I've been wanting to create a homemade NAS for quite some time. I finally got the chance to make one.

SPECS:
CPU: Intel Xeon E5-2603 @ 1.8Ghz
RAM: 48GBs
DISK: 18 - 3TB 5400rpm RED NAS drives
DISK: 2 - 256GB Plextor M6S SSDs
HBA: LSI SAS 9201-16i
ENCLOSURE: NORCO RPC 4220

So I configured a ZFS2 array with all 18 drives, and created a ZIL using the SSDs. I just did a quick configuration to see this guy run. Upon reading on the forums, I need to learn my terms and if this truly is a ZIL I setup.

I got about 68.2MB/sec transfer speed transferring from a Server 2008 R2 box to the NAS. I was just curious how this compared to others on the forums.

I'm still pretty new to the scene, and see that I have some reading to do in regards to ZIL, L2ARC, ect. I'm not sure if the NAS is configured correctly, respectively. For now this is just a test box. I just wanted to start somewhere and see what others thought.

Cheers,

enemy85

Guru
It's suggested not to go over a single 11disks vdev and u are planning an 18disks?
If i were u i would consider 2 9disks raidz2 vdev

mjws00

Guru
I would be wondering why you aren't maxing out 1GBe. You are pretty much at half speed. There is a chance this is the result of moving small files?

Read cyberjocks zfs primer. Take a look at the performance and benchmark threads. 18 spindles on an e5 should scream. I'd go even further and split to 3x 6 drive vdevs. This would be at the cost of space for iops. Keep testing you have a ways to go. You also didn't list nic, network tests, etc so maybe there is a bottleneck elsewhere.

Have fun.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
Definitely should be saturating GbE several times over. I don't see any obvious bottlenecks, so something is wrong - probably something to do with the extra-wide vdev (not sure how it would slow down so much in normal, early use, however).

cyberjock

Inactive Account