JBOD Help

DocPMD

Dabbler
I am a hobbyist, not an IT professional, so please have some sympathy and patience. I searched and read some of the posts here on JBODs and most were over my head and/or too specific to help me.

I just got my TrueNAS Core server running. I just upgraded my desktop and am using the old one (a Dell Inspiron with 8-core Ryzen 7 2700X) for TrueNAS. The problem is that box only has space for three HDD's and I want to add more.

So I heard the term "JBOD" today, Googled to find out what it actually is, and am hoping a JBOD is my answer as a cheap way to add new drives to my TrueNAS pool.

Can someone please advise if I can, in fact, use a cheap JBOD enclosure to add more drives, and perhaps make a recommendation.

Keep in mind that this all started as a way to get a free NAS with existing equipment.

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity
Please, please, please do NOT use a USB JBOD enclosure to add more drives. That way lies madness and loss of data.

The ONLY proven way to use a JBOD enclosure is with a serial-attached SCSI (SAS) enclosure downstream of SAS expanders.

DocPMD

Dabbler
Thank you, as advice on what NOT to do is often more valuable than on what TO do. Truly appreciated.

Now I just need some specific suggestions on options for what I should buy.

Samuel Tai

Please provide some more details on your hardware.

DocPMD

Dabbler
Please provide some more details on your hardware.
AMD Ryzen 7 2700X 8-core 16-thread CPU
16GB 2400 MHz DDR4 Ram
256 GB SSD used for OS
Three 3 TB HDD's set up in TrueNAS as a single pool with one Vdev Raid-Z
Two PCIe x16 slots
Two PCIe x1 slots
One open PCIe/SATA M.2 slot

Manual says the External bus frequency is "PCIe Gen3x4"

And I believe there are an additional 3 SATA plugins open on the MB, but no room for the drives themselves and would probably have to upgrade the power supply.

Hope that is enough info.