Is there a way to "force" AWS S3 backups to a specific storage class/tier? (S3 Glacier Deep Archive)

PeterPorker3

Cadet
Hello, first I would like to preface this discussion with the fact that while I am not new to TrueNAS, I am very new to AWS S3 and object storage in general and I am still trying to wrap by head around some of it. Some of my logic for choosing to use S3 in this way might be based off of assumptions that are incorrect due to my limited experience with it, so please let me know of any mistakes in my knowledge.

I run a home TrueNAS server with a few terabytes of important data. For awhile I have been using a shared basic dropbox home account for my off-site backups and I am trying to look for a more robust solution for the long term. After looking though lots of options it seems that S3 Glacier Deep Archive is perfect for me. The cost is outstanding and I am not bothered by the minimum file retention or long/expensive recovery times for emergency disaster recovery. I planned to create an AWS account and start backing up everyone today but I hit a stumbling block that I could not find a definitive answer on.