Replication server and backup to AWS Glacier Deep Archive

nathanael

Cadet
Hi!

I'm a bit new to FreeNas and AWS. We have in our company a data server running on FreeNas and storing ~35TB.
Local snapshot are made every hours and kept 2 weeks.
There's a replication to a backup server, also running on FreeNas. If I understood clearly, every snapshot taken during the day are backed up at midnight to the backup server, on which they are kept 2 monthes.
My first question: is this the correct process to backup data? If something happens to our data server, will we be able to restore all our data from the backup server.

Now, we would like to backup remotely in addition to locally. We found the solution of aws glacier deep archive very attractive: we already have some other data backed up to s3 and we could like to use this service for our main data.
I saw some threads in this forum and on reddit, but they are a bit old and I wondered if things have changed since.
We don't want to sync to s3 then use transitions to send data to Glacier Deep Archive: there will be costs to push them to s3, and then costs again to move them to Glacier.

What I think would be the right solution is to sync snapshots of the backup server directly to Glacier.
First: is it the correct way? Same question than before: if both of our servers are lose their data, will we be able to restore everything from the stored data in Glacier?
Second: is there a way to do that? I didn't find any answer to this one.

Thanks for reading!

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
It's FreeNAS.