Is it possible to hook FreeNAS to a desktop with a direct Ethernet connection?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shiroi Kage

Explorer
So I'm having bandwidth bottlenecks on my FreeNAS box when I'm trying to run a massive archive of photos directly from the server for something like Lightroom. My desktop's motherboard has dual 10Gb/s NICs on it, and I want to use one of them as a direct link to my FreeNAS server, for which I will have to buy a direct link card. Anyone knows if that feasible, or even useful? Since they both will have to be connected to the same switch and be on the same network, would that cause any problems?

I'm a networking newb so excuse my ignorance.

depasseg

FreeNAS Replicant
Yes, you can put a 10GbE NIC in Freenas and connect it directly to a PC directly. Just pick a different IP address range.

I'm not sure what you mean by them being on the same switch and network though. That seems to contradict the request of a direct connection.

Where are you running into bottlenecks?

Shiroi Kage

Explorer
Yes, you can put a 10GbE NIC in Freenas and connect it directly to a PC directly. Just pick a different IP address range.

I'm not sure what you mean by them being on the same switch and network though. That seems to contradict the request of a direct connection.

Where are you running into bottlenecks?
I want my FreeNAS box to still be available on my home network since I have other clients that want to connect to it, but I only need the 10Gb/s connection to my main PC. My PC will have two interfaces, one to the home network and one to the NAS box, and the FreeNAS box will do the same. I thought that might produce conflict, but I reckon since they're going to be on different IP ranges, it's not going to be an issue.