Install Nextcloud 12 on FreeNAS 11 - all guides not working

Status
Not open for further replies.

cunningorb

Explorer
I'm brand new to FreeNAS, and not having a very wonderful experience yet. Hoping we can change that.

I want my brand new installation of FreeNAS to run Nextcloud 12 and eventually 13 when it is out of beta.

There are several existing guides which would walk through step by step how to accomplish this.
https://forums.freenas.org/index.ph...3-on-freenas-11-with-all-checks-passed.58634/
https://ramsdenj.com/2017/06/05/nextcloud-in-a-jail-on-freebsd.html
https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?threads/please-help-me-install-nextcloud-12-in-jail.57855/ (great work @dureal99d you paved a good path)

What none of these tutorials cover currently is how to install Nextcloud 12 using the current stable version of FreeNAS, 11.1.

I have already been at this about 30-40 hours estimated but no matter what I run into some kind of game-ending error. The only time I was able to see Nextcloud in working form was when I installed using the plugin in the Old UI.

How far I've gotten:
*Old UI: I was able to get to the part where we install MariaDB 10.1, however the mysql service would not start. Multiple errors and no fix could work. Most common error was the same type of issue with sockets and not being able to remove mariaDB package that this person had: https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?threads/help-building-mediawiki-into-jail.60614/
*Old UI: I also tried from scratch again (both reinstalling the entire FreeNAS OS, and just removing and starting with a new jail) but using ports. This seemed like it might have worked except for the warnings about no ports being supported anymore. I even added allow unsupported system = yes to make.conf which allowed the install to happen, but in the very end the install still failed. Some file or other could not be found.