I Goofed - Live and Learn

Status
Not open for further replies.

BKK

Dabbler
I'm new to FreeNAS. I setup up my system to act as a Plex server and to also host backups from the home PCs. My experience is limited to building desktop PCs. When I studied Engng back in the day I did some Fortran!! programming on some Unix workstations as well.

I got a bee in my bonnet and wanted to put together a NAS. I tried Amahi. I didn't expect things to go smoothly but after putting in several hours I decided to walk. The docs are poor and there is not much in the way of community support in my experience.

After looking around I decided to give FreeNAS a try. It took me a few days to get FreeNAS up and running, there were a few hurdles, but some extra hours and a little help from the community and its up and running.

So I've now realized I made a pretty major GOOF! I went out and bought a desktop MB, CPU and non ECC RAM. I've been doing some reading on the threads in this forum and now realize what a mistake I made. I wish I would have done my home work first! I can't afford to ditch what I have right now, maybe in the new year. I have UPS connected also. What scares me is corruption introduced by my non ECC ram which from what I've read can go undetected.

So my question is aside from doing the recommended mtce scrubs, SMART, etc is there anything else I can do short of a backup of the Volume??

When I do buy a real MB and RAM would it be possible to swap out the old components and connect my drives to the new leaving the Volume drives as is??

Live and learn! I realize its not a secure setup but I'm going to keep my fingers crossed that it'll survive the next 6 months until I can get the new components!

danb35

Hall of Famer