HP DL380 G7 wont boot from SD Card

Sivivatu

Dabbler
I'm setting up my first home server and purchased an ex-enterprise HP DL380 G7 for the job. I have run the installer for FreeNAS successfully targeting the SD drive for the job. However, when I try to reboot and start FreeNAS the SD boot is not recognised and I don't find any boot files.

Is there something I need to do to allow booting from an SD Drive?

Do you have an external USB drive installed? There is a BIOS option buried somewhere that lets you give preference to ether the internal or external device. I have a DL360 G7 that boos from SD. Here is what that looks like from iLo.

1546871673498.png

Sivivatu

Dabbler
I'm not sure how to access the iLo interface, (plugged in my network to the iLo port but doesn't appear in Advanced IP Scanner). The bootloop errors I get are shown in images below. (not sure if this will help I'm very new to Sys Admin and that's part of the reason for this system).
1st Error.jpg

2nd Error.jpg

Here are what my boot options look like from the BIOS.
1546874786929.png

Then under System Options -> USB Options -> Removable Flash Media Boot Sequence, there is this menu.
1546874909908.png

My gut is that there is something wrong with the format of your drive key/SD card. How did you create it? What install media were you using?

Sivivatu

Dabbler
So I created the install media (current download option from the FreeNAS download page) from windows with Rufus installing to a USB key. The SD card was brand new but I didn't do anything before putting into the internal SD slot

Boot order:
boot order.jpg

USB option
Removable Flash.jpg