How to take first steps in learning the use of the CLI

Status
Not open for further replies.

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast
I'm a hardware guy, plain and simple. I have built my machine with proper hardware
for FreeNAS and ZFS, but I have NO experience with non-windows operating systems.
With help from many of you, and some heavy reading, I've created a small pool to learn
a few basic things. So far, I have a few files copied to the machine and have managed
to configure a single user (me), three data sets, permissions and enabled a CIFS share.
To my great delight IT WORKS!
Now my next hurdle is to have my files and the storage space available off-site.
My research leads to me to believe a VPN is what I want to accomplish.
To have THAT, I must become comfortable with the CLI right?

My question is this...
If YOU were in my shoes and MUST do this (become somewhat skilled with the CLI),
where would you begin your "command line education".

Before you answer, please keep in mind, I make my living as a plumber,
but computers have been my VERY SERIOUS PASSION for almost 17 years!
Thanks for your responses,
BD

DrKK

FreeNAS Generalissimo
"Making your FreeNAS files available off-site" is really a huge no-no. If you insist on doing it, you WILL need a VPN, or you will be asking for trouble. Unfortunately, installing any reasonable VPN on to your FreeNAS is extremely (and I mean, EXTREMELY) advanced voodoo because of the way things work (it's hard to do on the FreeNAS appliance itself, and not recommended---and it's almost impossible to do in a jail because of how the networking works). So, the host that brokers your VPN will probably need to be something else.

Do you have other computers in the LAN (maybe some Windows computer), or a router with flashed firmware (openWRT, Tomato, DD-WRT), or any options like that? Setting up a VPN on those will be much easier.

DrKK

FreeNAS Generalissimo