How to get a CIFS admin(pswd) and guest

Status
Not open for further replies.

THE_KINGDOM

Explorer
So.. I'm new to FreeNAS, and getting the hang of it.. somewhat..

I've read the documentation and user guides etc..

I cannot manage to get a windows CIFS, share to work as expected.
What I'm trying to do essentially is as with any other store bought NAS. I want some of my shares to be guest access with no password required and on the other hand I want some password protected to different users.

I've tried creating a new user and/or group and assigning privileges to this person, but it will not ask me for a password on windows, it just denies me access, as soon as I remove guest.
I also cannot seem to get my windows credentials to be associated with a user account on FreeNAS

depasseg

FreeNAS Replicant
Have you created users and changed the permissions of the Dataset accordingly?

upload_2014-12-14_20-47-11.png

THE_KINGDOM

Explorer
Have you created users and changed the permissions of the Dataset accordingly?

View attachment 5825

what is the Depasse part referring to? Is that a workgroup? domain? Is it required?

Once I've made a user, that matches the windows user logon and password it wont allow access, and if I put it to any other username and password windows isn't asking me to enter login credentials.

Last edited:

depasseg

FreeNAS Replicant
yes, sorry, it's my domain name. but you would just pick your user and group names from the drop down list.

THE_KINGDOM

Explorer
I've just started from scratch again, creating a mirror RAID 1 volume (nothing was on it anyways)
Created a windows CIFS share, I just can't figure out how to get windows to request log-in credentials for shares.
the only way i can get access to a CIFS share is to Allow Guest Access, and then theres no restrictions on who can access and modify data..