Honest mistake

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rene Raggl

Cadet
Good evening everybody!

As stated in my introduction, I have been skimming these forums for 2+ years and always found helpful information.

However, now I made a mistake and apparently nobody was yet so dumb to make exactly the same. At least I could not finding anything matching my dilemma exactly, which is the following:

I recently bought an older enterprise grade server (see specs below) to up my game on FreeNAS and introduce redundancy in my system, which had a single point of failure with only one data drive in the even older ThinkCentre M57 I was using for this purpose previously.

I store all my movies, music, pictures and documents on my FreeNAS. While it is nothing I could not live without, it would be very unfortunate to lose any of this.

To cut a long story short: I recently got my 2nd 2 TB drive and wanted to use it to mirror the first 2TB drive (RAID1 style), so that if either of the two drives fails, there would still be a backup. I was following one guide on the net, but what I ended up with is a striped volume that is 4 TB.

I am at a point where I don't dare to proceed on my own anymore as I am scared of data loss: how can I take the second drive off the volume without damaging it and then reintroduce it to the system as a mirror drive?

I only have those two 2 TB drives at the moment (+2x 160GB, currently not mounted in the system) and money is an issue, so - at least right now - I can't just splurge for two more.

Running FreeNAS 9.10.2

Last edited by a moderator:

bigphil

Patron
How much space have you used on your striped pool? Your safest bet is to copy the data to another drive or pool, wipe out the original striped pool, re-create it as a proper mirrored pool and copy the data back.

Rene Raggl

Cadet