Hi, I'm trying to build a home NAS from an old office PC, help and advice appreciated!

Vulpen

Cadet
Hello everyone!
I'm completely new to NAS building (and this forum, lol). I'm rather tech savvy, but I just never delved into NAS'es before.

I have an old office PC - Acer Aspire X3990 (https://www.acer.com/us-en/support/product-support/Aspire_X3990)
CPU: Intel Core i5 (2nd Gen) 2320 with integrated graphics
RAM: 4GB DDR3 1333 MT/s single stick (will upgrade to 2x4 with 1600 MT/s if the Mobo/BIOS supports it)
Motherboard: Intel H61 Chipset, Intel LGA1155 Socket (Sandy Bridge), 2 SATA ports
PSU: 250W 80+ Bronze

My use case for this NAS would be to install Nextcloud on it and use it for personal cloud storage and synchronizing of Calendars, Notes, Contacts, etc. So it won't require a lot of horsepower, I won't stream, encode or decode 4k video or host VM's on it.

Now here are the troubles with this build, and my "proposed" ways of solving them, let me know if something won't work or is stupid.

1. There are only 2 SATA ports.
I want to RAID two 1TB hard drives, which will take up both ports, leaving nothing for the OS.

-My first solution includes getting a PCIe x4 to m.2 NVME adapter and plugging it into the 16x port. According to my previous experience trying to install a Linux on such a drive, the adapter is not visible as a bootable drive during boot time. This means that the Bootloader has to be installed in a bootable place instead. It could be on the RAID drives, but that will require complex partitioning and issues with the RAID setup, and I don't want to open that can of worms. It could also live on a USB thumb drive that is permanently plugged into one of the USB ports at the back. I'm hoping it won't die too quickly, since it will only be read from at boot time, but even if it does, it's easily replaceable.