Hi, I'm Chris, and I've got a Tech Addiction

Status
Not open for further replies.

majic79

Dabbler
Hi everyone, wanted to sign up as I'm in the process of building up my own NAS. For the past few years I've been playing around with hacking existing NAS systems (WD MyBook, Seagate GoFlex Home...) to make them do what I want, now I've taken the plunge and I'm building up my own spec (something I have a lot of experience in, having built custom PC systems for myself and close family for the past 20 years or so)

I'll share what I'm building now, and what the next purchase will be, criticisms welcome!

Based around a SuperMicro A1SRi-C2758F motherboard (octacore Atom) and 32GB of Kingston ECC DDR3 @ 1600MHz
boot drive as a 60GB Kingston SSD Now drive with secondary boot on a SanDisk 32GB Ultra fit
HBA is a LSI MegaRaid SAS 9240-8i with 5x WD Red 3TB drives attached.
Housed in a CFI 5 Bay Mini-ITX NAS enclosure

Planning on running this system as my Domain controller (my PC count keeps climbing and having a centralised directory store will make my life so much easier!) as well as media server (plex) for home streaming. I'm in two minds as to running RAIDZ1 (good fit for 5 drives) or RAIDZ2 (max redundancy). Planning on also seeing if I can run a Minecraft server on this puppy as well (save the cost of running a Linode!)

Next purchase is a UPS while I wait for the motherboard to arrive

That's me, no doubt I'll have some questions in the near future - now I just need parts to finish shipping so I can put it all together!

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast
Welcome to the forum!

MrToddsFriends

Documentation Browser
Based around a SuperMicro A1SRi-C2758F motherboard (octacore Atom) and 32GB of Kingston ECC DDR3 @ 1600MHz
boot drive as a 60GB Kingston SSD Now drive with secondary boot on a SanDisk 32GB Ultra fit
HBA is a LSI MegaRaid SAS 9240-8i with 5x WD Red 3TB drives attached.
Housed in a CFI 5 Bay Mini-ITX NAS enclosure