Help with Volume State is Unknown on a new build.

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm new to FreeNAS and NAS setups in general. I just pieced together this machine using an ASRock A88M-ITX mother board 16GB of Memory and 4x4TB WD Red Drives. I installed FreeNAS to a SanDisc UltraFit thumb drive.
There's not really any other hardware here the HDDs and the USB drive are all plugged directly into the motherboard.

Basically I went through the install, and then I followed the wizard in the web interface to set everything up. I chose "automatic" for the volume configuration and mostly just used the default options for everything.

It seemed to be working but the smartd_daemon wouldn't run, and I was also getting some CAM errors on ada2 as described here: https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?threads/cam-errors.57620/

following the advice in that thread I did a shut-down through the web interface, waited for the machine to power itself off then replaced the cable on ada2 with a brand-new still in the wrapper cable. When I powered it back up I didn't get any CAM errors but I was now getting a critical error of "The Volume [my volume] state is UNKNOWN. smartd_daemon is still not running.

I shut down again, and replace the cable with a 3rd new cable and I'm still getting the volume state is unknown error.

in the console on the web interface I'm seeing:
smartd[2436]: Unable to register device /dev/da0 (no Directive -d removable). Exiting.
root: /etc/rc: WARNING: failed precmd routine for minio
syslog-ng[1578]: Configuration reload request received, reloading configuration;

I'm kind of out of my depth at this point. I'm not sure what I've done wrong. I had built this setup because I wanted something more reliable and particularly more recoverable than a simple USB drive in the event of a hardware failure, but searching around on this error message I keep seeing posts about this being unrecoverable... and I haven't even put a single file on this thing yet.