Help scanning to a folder from copier

Status
Not open for further replies.

rlink

Cadet
Hi all,

I'm new to FreeNAS (built server before Christmas with 9.3). It is serving as a repository for my Veeam backup of our virtual machines. It has been working well and now I'm in the process of moving some of our files from the share in our SBS 2008 server (stored on a HP SAN) to the FreeNAS server. The trouble that I'm having is scanning a document from our Kyocera MFP (FS-3640MFP). I can scan to the CIFS share that I created but I can't go past that. For example: FreeNAS Server is the name of the share. Like I stated previously, the scans complete to this. If the path is FreeNAS Server\Network, I get error 1103 from the MFP that says: "The network path name is incorrect or you do not have access to the folder specified". I have given the "everyone" permission with full access. You can save, move, delete, and edit files to and from this location with all of the PCs that I have tried. I have tried to scan to just "network" without freenas server in front but that didn't work either. This works on our SBS 2008 share so it seems like something in the FreeNAS server or it needs a path or format that I'm not giving it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Redcoat

MVP
I had a similar experience with my HP scanner. For reasons not understood it worked when I used the IP of the scanner as the first part of the path instead of the name.
John N.

rlink

Cadet