Help please, first start...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Szyrs

Dabbler
Hi,

I've been working on upgrading my server from a Windows machine for almost a year, due to some hurdles along the way. It's getting to be more than just a thorn in my side, having my storage space in pieces.

I have finally arrived at point where I know what I'm going to build but I have some bits here that I'm thinking that I could set up as a FreeNAS box while I skrimp and save.

I have an HP Z400 that has 24GB ECC RAM and a few cheap sata cards, so I'm thinking to change the case and a few other bits and see what I can accomplish. I went with FreeNAS over similar varients because it seems so well supported and popular. It's a little difficult to follow a few things, I guess because the range of users is so wide.

I have no previous experience with FreeBSD or ZFS but I do pick things up and I'm not feint hearted.

I've been advised against deduplication and I'm happy to accept that for this machine. I can't analyze for effectiveness untill this machine is running anyway, so it's definitely not an issue at this point.

I do not need encryption on this machine. I would like compression. I would like 2 or 3 drive redundancy, but that depends on the number of drives I can run in this system.

There will be a very low user count, perhaps 11 concurrent users max at any one time. File sizes vary from small plain text to video and media files that are several gigs in size. Streaming media will be dependant on network bottlenecks and available ram.

Aside from that, I simply want a ZFS storage device, as large as I can make it with the hardware I have (more because I'm sick of waiting than because i'm stingy).

I have I think 14x 3TB drives at the moment that are free, this is what is holding me up though: