Help. My zpool has slowed down to a crawl -- Solved

Status
Not open for further replies.

jeffs

Cadet
Please help me to trouble shoot this problem. I'm pretty new to Freenas although I do have some experience with servers, in general (windows and linux). I installed this server with all recommended components (Supermicro motherboard, ECC RAM, etc.) about 4 months ago and things have been fine. About a week ago things slowed down to a crawl and streaming video became choppy at best. I can't even copy a large file from the server to my desktop without an error after about 40 Mb of data have been transferred. Freenas reports that my zpool is healthy but I am sure something is wrong.

Today I decided to start a scrub on the pool and it's progressing very slowly too, 206K/s. After an hour only 1Gb has been scanned out of 9.56Tb. I have a raidz3 setup with 8 2Tb disks.

All disks are reported to be online and the pool is marked as healthy.

Again, please help me to troubleshoot this problem.

Thank you in advance for your help.

jeffs

depasseg

FreeNAS Replicant
I'm guessing it's because your pool is extremely close to being 100% full. Above 80%, performance starts to degrade due to fragmentation issues.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
I'm guessing it's because your pool is extremely close to being 100% full. Above 80%, performance starts to degrade due to fragmentation issues.
9.56Tb. I have a raidz3 setup with 8 2Tb disks.
There's your problem.

Add storage or delete files. Your choice, but choose quickly.

Edit: I somehow never realized that zpool status' scrub status referenced raw on-disk bytes, not usable space.
So yeah, pool is not insanely full.

Last edited:
Well x8 2Tb hdds in RAIDz3 gives you a Usable data space 7.872TB .....with a Minimum recommended free space 1.968TB a combined space of 9.84TB....soooo you're over the 80%

depasseg

FreeNAS Replicant
Add storage or delete files. Your choice, but choose quickly.