SOLVED Have I accounted for everything I need for a 1st FreeNAS build?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dakaratekid

Cadet
I’m a complete noob when it comes to FreeNAS, and only a bit better with linux Ubuntu distros. I have no prior BSD experience. This is my first build for a rackmount server, but not my first pc build. The questions I have are:

1) Do the hardware specs I have listed seem sufficient/work with FreeNas and my stated goals below?
2) Are there any better Supermicro alternatives to the Supermicro motherboard I have for my stated goals?
3) Am I missing anything, or spec’ing anything incorrectly?

Primary Goals:

Emby Server
Radarr
Sonnarr
NZBGet

Secondary Goals:

Apache Spark
Apache Hadoop

I already own the following:

· 4 x WD Red WD100EFAX 10TB 5400 RPM 256MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" NAS Hard Drive Bare Drive (I will be expanding with more drives as funds become available)
· 1 x IT Mode LSI 9211-8i SAS SATA 8-port PCI-E 6Gb/s Controller Card

I have spec’d out the following to buy:

· Intel Xeon E3-1270 Processors BX80677E31270V6
· Supermicro Micro ATX DDR4 LGA 1151 Motherboards X11SSM-F-O
· Supermicro SSD-DM032-SMCMVN1 32GB SATA DOM
· Supermicro 4U Rackmount Server Chassis - Black CSE-846BE16-R1K28B
· Supermicro Certified MEM-DR416L-CV01-EU24 Micron 16GB DDR4-2400 VLP ECC UDIMM
· Noctua L-Type Premium Quiet CPU Cooler_ Retail Cooling NH-L9x65

As far as the total amount of UDIMM RAM it will be 64GB

Thanks for any input.

Last edited:

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
You should really include a list of the components in the post, instead of just an Amazon link. People might just skip your thread because they don't feel like opening the link...

2) Are there any better Supermicro alternatives to the Supermicro motherboard I have for my stated goals?
The X11SSA-F is an extremely weird model. You definitely do not need the five legacy PCI slots in a modern server. Get an X11SSL-F or X11SSM-F instead.

3) Can FreeNAS boot off of the SuperDOM
Yes.