Hard Drive Set up and Movie Storage

Status
Not open for further replies.

drchris33

Cadet
Hello Forum.....

I am a newbie as well. I have about 2600 movies in my collection, all on my computer on various internal and external hard drives. My goal is to have a mainstreamed center to stream all my movies from one hub inside one box. So I built a new box. I have 8 GB RAM and five hard drives.......4 of them are 3 TBs each for my movie storage and I have one SSD for my OS. I have installed Freenas and have most of it set up (thanks to multiple videos and step-by-step guides from the net). I have added all the volumes. I am a Windows guy, so I had set up a CIFS to share my drives. I also have multliple WDTV Live boxes in my home (home is large, about 7600 sq/foot). So I want to be able to stream my movies throughout my home.

My question is when I am creating a CIFS, do I create four separate ones, one for each of my hard drives? I have named them A-D. Or can I set up one CIFS windows share, naming the path mnt/A/B/C/D? I had initially made four separate shares and began transferring some of my movies over the network but then was wondering if I would be creating four copies of each movie; one on each hard drive.

All of the forums have been very helpful thus far but I haven't been able to find much on this. Sorry if it's a stupid question and sorry if it had already been addressed.

Also, I do like the XBMC format and idea and I know that you wouldn't put it on the same box, but I kind of want a ***y looking menu and such so that I can fetch my movies, instead of the boring WDTV screen by selecting videos and then scrolling through the hundreds of pages to find the movie that I want.

Any input would be very helpful and appreciated. Thank you!!!

joeschmuck

Old Man
Well a few questions...